Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Leadership Award Winners!

By Mattysen Short, Correspondent 

On Sunday, April 18th, 2021 Embry-Riddle Prescott held its annual Leadership Awards ceremony. Leadership awards are given to students and organizations whose leadership efforts positively impact both their peers and the university as a whole based on nominations by peers and ultimately decided by the awards committee. In addition to the awards, the current SGA President, Melea Tucker, facilitated the SGA Council of 2021-2022 taking its Oath of Office. 

The ceremony was held in three different locations due to COVID-19 protocols with a Zoom call running for all of the locations to celebrate together with people who couldn’t attend in person, family members, and other supporters.

The main award categories were Department of Student Engagement (DSE) Individual, Fraternity and Sorority Life (FSL), Housing and Residence Life (HRL), Student Government Association (SGA), and Department of Student Engagement Group. Horizons Newspaper is proud to accept the Student Organization of the Year award and congratulate all of the recipients:

Department of Student Engagement Individual Awards:

Outstanding First-Year Student: Mattysen Short 

Outstanding Senior: Anna Bartz

Outstanding Scholar-Leader: Ashley Elliot

Outstanding Community Service: Matthew Martinez 

Student Leader of the Year: Melea Tucker 

Advisor of the Year: Justin Munz

Fraternity and Sorority Life Awards:

Chapter of Scholarship: Lambda Chi Alpha

Chapter of Giving: Sigma Alpha Epsilon

Chapter of Service: Delta Phi Epsilon

Chapter of Fellowship: Sigma Alpha Epsilon 

Chapter of Community: Pi Kappa Phi

Chapter of Principle: Sigma Alpha Epsilon

Outstanding Chapter of the Year: Sigma Alpha Epsilon 

Council Leader of the Year: Monica Diaz of Alpha Sigma Tau

Fraternity Member of the Year: Charles Harness

Sorority Member of the Year: Jessica Rader

Housing and Residence Life Awards (Awarded to Residence Assistants (RAs)):

Customer Service: Kameryn Walker

Connections: Dymetris Ramierz

Care: Savannah Riddles

Rookie of the Year: Dawson Brindle

Returner of the Year: Carlos Rodriguez

RA of the Year: Emma Rash

Student Government Association Awards:

SGA Outstanding Faculty Member: Dean Ron Madler

SGA Outstanding Staff Member: Harold Talbert 

Department of Student Engagement Group Awards:

Outstanding Program: Black Student Alliance 

Outstanding Virtual Program: Women in CyberSecurity

Outstanding Diversity Program: Black Student Alliance

Outstanding Collaborative Program: Black Student Alliance and SGA

Outstanding Community Impact: Women’s Ambassador Program

Outstanding Community Building: Society of Physics Students

Outstanding New Organization: The Data Privacy Society

Student Organization of the Year: Horizons Newspaper

Left: Vee Glessner; Right: Bria Booth. Horizons Newspaper leaders proudly accept the Student Organization of the Year award.

Congratulations to all nominees and award recipients! Your leadership efforts do not go overlooked and it is people and organizations like you that make Embry-Riddle Prescott such an amazing university. Thank you to all advisors, students, and organizations who are working day in and day out to make Embry-Riddle a better, more inclusive, more enjoyable place for all.